top of page

Lois Wallace


About the artist

Lois Wallace’s practice explores the Northern Romantic tradition of painting, where  landscape can be seen as a metaphor for the human condition. Copper has been used as  a painting support since the Renaissance and her paintings are made using transparent  layers of oil paint on copper. The warmth of the copper ground glows through the painting  to create light, atmosphere and a sense of illumination from within.  

Lois Wallace was born in Manchester and studied at Manchester Polytechnic before  gaining a degree in Fine Art from Coventry and an HDFA from The Slade School of Art.  She was then awarded the Cheltenham painting Fellowship at Gloucestershire School of  Art. Recent exhibitions include The New Light prize touring exhibition 2020-21. Solo  shows: Small worlds The Old Lock Up Gallery 2020, Perfect Day IPS Birmingham 2019  and Other Places Tarpey Gallery.


Forthcoming solo show in 2022 at PS Mirabel. Her  paintings have been exhibited at The Royal Academy of Arts, London Summer show 2015,  2016, 2017 and The Mall Galleries, London, at the ING Discerning Eye and the Columbia  Threadneedle competition in 2018 where she was awarded a finalist prize. She exhibited  at the Shenzhen International Biennial, Jinling Art Museum, China touring exhibition and  has exhibited at the Raab Gallery, Berlin since 2007. Her work is in public and private  collections in Europe, New Zealand, Miami and the UK.  



1977 - 1980 Coventry Polytechnic B.A Hons Fine Art (First Class) with Commendation in   History of Art  

1980 - 1982 Slade School of Art, University College London, Higher Diploma in Fine Art  1980 - 1983 Cheltenham painting Fellowship, Gloucestershire College of Art and Design  1984 - 1985 Birmingham Polytechnic, PGCE, Distinction  

Awards and Scholarships  

2021 Lund Humphries prize  

2019 PS Mirabel prize first prize  

2019 Old Lock up gallery solo show prize  

2018    Columbia Threadneedle finalist prize  

2017 Welbeck prize  

2016 Tarpey Gallery solo show prize  

          Schott UK prize  

2015 Ian Robinson prize  

2002 Peel Holdings Award  

1992 1st prize regional award Laing  

1992 Laing National Award  

1985 Louisa Ann Ryland Scholarship 

bottom of page